Aga Khan Prize for Architecture announces masters jury for 2022

Public Spaces Development Program (Russian Federation), winner of the 2019 prize.

Muhammad Yusuf, Feature Writer

The jury members of the Masters of the 2020-2022 cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture have been announced. The jury, which independently selects the recipients of the US $ 1 million award, will meet in January 2022 to select a shortlist from among hundreds of nominated projects.

The nine members of the master jury for the fifteenth prize cycle are:

Nada Al Hassan, architect specializing in the conservation of architectural and urban heritage; Amale Andraos, Dean of Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. She is committed to designing research focused on climate change and its impact on architecture as well as on the issue of representation in the era of global practice. His publications include: We’ll Get There When We Cross This Bridge; The Arab city: architecture and representation co-edited with Nora Akawi; 49 cities and above the sidewalk, the farm! in collaboration with Dan Wood; Kader Attia, an artist who explores the vast effects of Western cultural hegemony and colonialism. At the heart of his investigation are the concepts of injury and reparation, which he uses to connect various bodies of knowledge, including architecture, music, psychoanalysis, medical science, and traditional healing and spiritual beliefs.


Malayalam film star Asif Ali obtains coveted United Arab Emirates Golden Visa

Rami Malek responds to complaints about No Time to Die runtime

Shang-Chi defeats Black Widow as highest-grossing movie of 2021

Kazi Khaleed Ashraf, Managing Director of the Bengal Institute for Architecture, Landscapes and Settlements, in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The Bengal Institute focuses on the challenges of the contemporary city and the organization of land, water, and settlements, in the critical ecological dynamics of a terra-cotta landscape; Sibel Bozdoğan, Visiting Professor of Modern Architecture and Urban Planning, Department of Art History and Architecture at Boston University; Lina Ghotmeh, Franco-Lebanese architect who heads Lina Ghotmeh – Architecture, an international multidisciplinary firm based in Paris. Echoing the experience of Ghotmeh in Beirut – she was born there in 1980 – the work of the office is orchestrated as an “archeology of the future”, where each project develops from in-depth historical and material research, learning from a vernacular past to build a new “already-there”.

age art 1 Wasit Wetland Center, Sharjah, winner of the 2019 award.

Francis Kéré garnered critical acclaim early in his architectural practice when he received the Aga Khan Award for Architecture for the first building he created: a primary school in his hometown of Gando, Burkina Faso , which he designed, collected and built in collaboration with local residents; Anne Lacaton founded Lacaton & Vassal in Bordeaux in 1989 with Jean Philippe Vassal. Their work focuses on the generosity of space and the economy of means and carefully uses the values ​​of already there, to do more with less. Many projects are hybrids between contemporary construction concepts and more diverse techniques and Nader Tehrani, founding director of NADAAA, a practice dedicated to advancing design innovation, interdisciplinary collaboration and dialogue intensive with the construction industry.

For the past seven consecutive years, NADAAA has ranked among the top eleven design companies in Architect magazine’s “50 Best Companies in the United States” ranking, ranking “# 1” for three consecutive years. Once the main jury has selected a shortlist, shortlisted projects go through rigorous on-site reviews by independent experts – mostly architects, conservationists, planners or structural engineers. The Jury meets a second time in the summer of 2022 to review the opinions on site and select the final recipients of the Prize. The selection process emphasizes architecture that not only meets the physical, social and economic needs of people, but also stimulates and meets their cultural aspirations.

age art 2 Arcadia Education Project, Bangladesh, winner of the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture.

Special attention is given to construction projects that use local resources and appropriate technology in innovative ways and to projects that may inspire similar efforts elsewhere.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is governed by a Steering Committee chaired by the Aga Khan. The other members of the steering committee are Sheikha Mai Bint Mohammed Al Khalifa, Chairman, Bahrain Authority for Culture and Antiquities, Manama; Emre Arolat, Founder, EAA – Emre Arolat Architecture, Istanbul; Meisa Batayneh, Principal Architect, Founder, Architects and Engineers Maisam, Amman; Sir David Chipperfield, Director, David Chipperfield Architects, London; Souleymane Bachir Diagne, Director, Institute of African Studies, Columbia University, New York; Nasser Rabbat, Professor Aga Khan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge; Marina Tabassum, Director, Marina Tabassum Architects, Dhaka and Sarah M Whiting, Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge. Farrokh Derakhshani is the director of the award.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is an architecture award created in 1977. It aims to identify and reward architectural concepts that successfully meet the needs and aspirations of Muslim societies in the fields of contemporary design, social housing, development and community improvement, restoration, reuse and conservation of areas, as well as landscaping, environmental improvement that set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historical preservation and landscape architecture. It recognizes projects, teams and stakeholders, in addition to buildings and people. The need for a contemporary visual language for the Islamic built environment, as well as for architects trained in modern technologies and sensitive to the diversity, values ​​and dignity of Muslim culture, informs the creation of the Prize. It is associated with the Aga Khan Trust for Culture (AKTC), an agency of the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) and is awarded every three years. Through its efforts, the award seeks to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully meet the needs and aspirations of societies around the world, in which Muslims have a significant presence.

Source link

About admin

Check Also

Meet the T + E + A + M architecture studio, shaking up its domain

T + E + A + M Brings Practical Overhaul to Ann Arbor and Beyond …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *